Narrowband

Beginner DSLR's for Astrophotography?

I am fairly new to astrophotography and I'm in the market for a reasonably priced DSLR camera (preferably Canon as I am very familiar with them) that would be good for shooting the night sky. I used to own a canon 60d for video production but have since sold it. While looking online I had heard a lot of good things about the Canon 350d as a resonably priced dslr for astrophotography. I'm really not looking to break the bank on a highly advanced camera, just get my feet wet, so to speak. Is it worth investing in a 20da or 60da? as eventually I would love to get into Planet and nebula photography (as I've heard this it a lot trickier) but for now I'm looking for an easy starting off point. Any other recommendations?

Cheers.

A 60Da is a nice camera, I'm biased of course. :grin:

It has the movie crop mode, same as a 550D, that is ideal for planets and moon plus of course it responds well to Ha.

If you don't want to spend to much a 450, 600, 550 or 1100 could easily be got quite cheaply these days.

If your in the UK.

MPB have 550s around £200, 450s around £130, 600s around £230 and 1100 around  £160.

Or you could lookout for a cheap modded cam on here or the ABS site.

Thanks so much! I'll ponder it a bit more. In the long run I'd love to go for a 60Da but unfortunately it's not quite in my budget. I appreciate the feedback though and I'll definitely consider the other options.

You don't need a state of the art camera to take really nice photos of little things in the sky. Large expensive dslr cameras have very large sensors compared to most ccd