SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Some simple help needed to find easy Messiers

Hi, I'm very new to astronomy and need to help to find what I'm looking at outside of our solar system. I have no trouble with spotting what I need to with the naked eye. (The moon and Jupiter look great), however the problem comes when spotting with my finder scope as obviously your view is narrowed and suddenly you can see more stars in the sky. 

I've tried looking for m33 and 32/33 however the trianglum is on about 20 degrees above the horizon just above nearby housing and lighting is just to bright in the early leaving before it slowly drops below the houses and horizon. So I'm going to leave that unitl its in a better position

So I thought I'd aim for m51 as Ursa major it's quite high and easy to pick out along with polaris and ursa minor. Still had no luck spotting M51.

Do anybody have any tips on the best way of spotting the conselltations through a finder scope so I can then find some easy to spot messier?

I've got starcharts printed and use starchart app I just have trouble getting in the right direction with finderscope(FS is setup corectly as I can view Jupiter). Any pointers would be great? Trial and error I guess, but any help would greatly be appreciated.

Thank you

Ps tried dl stelarium, but my laptop wouldn't let me install due to possible malaware.

Sky-Watcher Skyliner-200P Dobsonian - 10mm & 25mm EP - 9x50 Finderscope - SW 2x Barlow - Filters

Hi and Welcome,

I see you are using the standard finder, which most peeps find to be lacking....   I may be better to invest in a simple laser finder, or better still a Telrad finder 

Julian