Narrowband

Imaging with refractor and 700D SLR

Lukeness

I've just been outside with my ED80 telescope on my EQ5 mount using my 700D SLR but i haven't been able to focus on the orion nebula or jupiter.

I've used a barlow lens and they both still come out as big circles, i can't seem to get any better.

Is there a way around this? to make the image focus more so it actually looks like something?

I need an extension tube with my scope to reach focus with my DSLR, but I thought the Barlow might do the same? I'm no expert you see....

The other thing is, how are you focussing? Using liveview? I find that very difficult, although I just have a lowly 1100d. I have found it much easier to use a Bhatinov mask and also the APT software which has some useful focussing tools.  Have you tried finding the brightest visible star and focussing on that first?

Of course, if you need an extension tube in the mix, none of these will help, so hopefully an expert will be along to help!

The other thing to try is focussing on the moon and then try some shots of Orion to see how far out you are

I've just been outside with my ED80 telescope on my EQ5 mount using my 700D SLR but i haven't been able to focus on the orion nebula or jupiter.

I've used a barlow lens and they both still come out as big circles, i can't seem to get any better.

Is there a way around this? to make the image focus more so it actually looks like something?