SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

First light with my new 414ex. Strange Darks.

Hi,

I am new to CCD imaging and tried my new Atik 414ex tonight. Lots of firsts, so all kinds of things could have gone wrong. In doing the RGB images, I noticed various light patches in every single sub, with all filters. I tried a dark, and got the same light patches:

gallery_37194_3584_166133.jpg

This looks like something is rather wrong to me - is this normal?

This calibrates out relatively successfully though and my first effort at processing is below (M67) but I am a bit worried my first CCD has something wrong with it.

4e750b6fcbac3b2e49d94b8df42bfcd1.1824x0_

Having slept on it I think you are right. As I was packing up last night I shone a torch at the rig to see how much clearance there was and then the dark image I was taking had a huge glow in it. Didn't think anything of it at the time. Seems a little weird that the glow could come from stray light, of which there is remarkably little as last night was very dark, but I will experiment today.

Will have a less tired go at processing as well. I should really have more patience and go to sleep more...

I have done some more testing and things are clearer. It is not light leakage after all.

I created a 10sec dark (scope cover on) using my MacBookPro and Nebulosity 3. Flares as per the image above. I then immediately connected to a Windows 7 box, and did another 10 sec capture using Artemis. No Flare. I then created a 10 sec dark using Nebulosity 3 on the Windows box. Again, no flares. It only seems to appear on the Mac version. Sigh.

I have done some more testing and things are clearer. It is not light leakage after all.