Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Mars viewing

Matt1

So I was finally able to use the  telescope tonight without any cloud well for 10 mins anyway. Got some awesome views of the Jupiter.  However, I set my sights on Mars on focused in on the little yellow feller and it still looked like a small yellow dot....?doh-old.gif

I am using an  dob 200p and I had a 10mm lens with the 2 x Barlow barlow. I don't know exactly how that breaks down in to magnification numbers, but I would think I should at least be able to have a pretty decent picture of Mars with it, or am I wrong?

Its hard enough to line up on anything with that magnification as it is. Course I’m just a newbie so what do I know.

Please Help

Cheers

Hi Matt,

Mars is pretty challenging at the best of times, but now is not a good time to view as it is a long way from opposition.

Currently it is around 4 arc seconds across, in May 2016 at opposition it will be over 4 times the size at 18 arc seconds.

To view Mars well, you need high magnification, good cooling and collimation aswell as good seeing conditions. All this, plus the planet should be near opposition.

Your mag was x240 which is about right under good conditions, Mars needs more than Jupiter or Saturn.

Here are two snaps of Mars now, and at next opposition, at the same scale.

5a9b771e7c1926f07496feddc49512aa.jpg

6bfd903675b5d4845b126a3ad983a945.jpg

Under the best conditions I've seen amazing detail on Mars, under the worst it is nothing more than a small orange blob!

Stu

1200*2/10 = 240x

For Mars to be anything other then a small disk you will need a bit more, equally the 10mm and the barlow are not really good and you will I suspect have lost detail. Also it is low and the sky will cause problems with detail also.

Mars is a very small object, as said elsewhere Mars at it's closest is smaller then Jupiter at it's furthest from earth.