Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

New to imaging - direction of next step

I'm quite new to imaging and I have to say that the learning curve is astoundingly steep. There is the getting the image side of things and then the whole processing side which seems to be an art of it's own. I've finally got an image that I'm pretty happy with, much better than my previous efforts. What I'm looking for is some suggestions of what I need "more of" to improve it. Sorry that it's yet another M42 image but it's an easy target to practice and try stuff on.

I know that there are a lot of areas that will provide improvement but because I've got a limited amount of sky time and time to process. I'm looking for what would give me the best bang for the buck improvement. Basically, what's the next best direction or thing to do to improve the image. Think the 80/20 rule, 80% of the results are gotten with 20% of the effort.

This is what I started with, it's kind of green because of the light pollution filter but the stack came out ok.

post-40355-0-92702000-1424150490_thumb.j

I stacked 9 x 30s images with DSS and tweaked with the settings to get the image below.

post-40355-0-49718600-1424151213_thumb.j

So when I look at other people's pictures I see them being a lot of darker backgrounds and more detail. A few of the things I know I can do are:

More subs - I see anything from 1 to like 100 subs so I don't know what's really needed per the 80/20 rule

Dark frames - I get so little time to use the telescope that I don't really want to sit there and just take darks, but I will if it gives a good return.

Flat frames - I'll have to build a light box or something if I need to do these, not high on my immediate list 

longer subs - This has been a real issue for me, when I get up to the 60s range things get really washed out, so I don't know how people get 5 min subs, dark site?

Dark site - is it as simple as I need to travel to a dark site for imaging?