Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First go at Andromeda

Shiinsuh

So last night I had my first real go at Andromeda viewing conditions were good until the clouds rolled in meaning I was only able to take 16 subs, 12 of which were used. The subs were 400 seconds long.

The subs along with 13 dars, 32 flats and 30 bias where stacked in DSS then processed in photoshop CS6. Here is what I got:

i4PLLjsQ22VDe.jpg

While i seem to have to some decent detail out of the data. There is a green gradient that goes from right to left as you can see. Any idea how I can remove this in photoshop?

Other than that I am pretty happy with the picture.

Any feedback would be most welcomed.

You can buy a Ps plug in from Russ Croman, Gradient Xterminator. Some kind of gradient remover is necessary even from the darkest sites. The king of them all is Dynamic Background Extraction in Pixinsight but GradX works well.

Olly

I'm still learning myself regarding processing, but I would have thought that with 12 exposures of nearly 7 minutes each, that there is a lot more detail in that image. Great start though! Try the Hasta La Vista Green plug in for PS by Rogelio Bernal Andreo, to remove the green cast.

I agree, I'm sure there is a lot more data, I have been able to show more dust lanes but trying to bring them out causes the green glow and the core to blow out so I opted for some where in between. The data is defiantly a keeper though so as I learn more about processing, I can have another go later on.

Thank you for the plug-in, I'll give it a try later on!

Thanks for the comment.

You can buy a Ps plug in from Russ Croman, Gradient Xterminator. Some kind of gradient remover is necessary even from the darkest sites. The king of them all is Dynamic Background Extraction in Pixinsight but GradX works well.

Olly

I shall have a look into that plug-in.