Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Which Software??

IckleImp

Greetings Stargazers

I am just starting out in trying to do a bit of imaging.

I bought an xbox 360 webcam which I have modified. I am now looking for capture and stacking software.

Which is the easiest to use and hopefully also free?.

Will I need a motor for moon imaging or will I get suffient frames from the scope being stationary or can I track manually?. Should I use a barlow to increase image size?.

Any advise is much appreciated.

Autostakkert for stacking the avi http://www.autostakkert.com/wp/download/

Sharpcap for capture http://www.sharpcap.co.uk/sharpcap/downloads

Pipp if you have trouble opening the avi or want to order / crop before processing https://sites.google.com/site/astropipp/downloads

Paint.net for final adjustments http://www.getpaint.net/download.html

That should get you going

Also firecapture is a good alternative to sharpcap http://firecapture.wonderplanets.de/download.html

That's great thank you. What exposure time would I need? Or is it a case of the longer the better?. Do images get more detailed with longer exposure?. For anyone interested CEX have xbox 360 webcams on sale for £2.50 and PS3 webcams for £4.00.

For the Moon/Jupiter... 10fps and 2000 frames are a good starting point. Longer exposure does not neccessariliy mean more detail, as noise, movement etc will start to affect things.

Focus however, is critical, with any type of camera.

And yes I did note that you are manually tracking.

That's great thank you. What exposure time would I need? Or is it a case of the longer the better?. Do images get more detailed with longer exposure?. For anyone interested CEX have xbox 360 webcams on sale for £2.50 and PS3 webcams for £4.00.