Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

My first DSO / Orion Nebula / on 127 Mak, alt az and webcam

jimbo747

This is my very first attempt at imaging a DSO. Last night was partially cloudy but just went for it. As you can see, the results aren't brilliant but with the kit I'm using thats to be expected, was more of an experiment really so for my own mind I can find out why a mak, on an alt az with a webcam is pants for astrophotography.

Before you all laugh, please bear in mind that ...

1) Its a 127 SLT 1500mm FL mak scope and the alignment wasn't brilliant

2) Its a (very) wobbly alt az mount, fully extended due to high fences and with no additional weight

3) I'm using a rattly £8 0.5x focal reducer from ebay

4) I'm using a £4.99 ps3 camera exposed to the air to capture the image

5) I lost 15 mins of data when I tripped over the usb lead corrupting one of my recordings, so then proceeded to use 4x 5 min slots

6) Its only the 3rd image after one of the moon and one of jupiter I've taken

7) I only get 30 minute sessions before either wife nags or daughter wakes up

8) I haven't a clue on how to use photoshop - I just fiddled with the curves in 16 bit mode!

Ok, now all the excuses are out the way.

I took 4 separate recordings, approx 5 minutes each of 10s exposures ( was 6 mins but used best 80%) which I then split in to .png using virtualdub. I was aiming to combine all 20 mins in DSS but that didn't seem to work (there was a gap of about 10-20 mins between each one resulting in a massive noisy blur) so I stacked each recording in to 4 separate images. Exposure 10s, gain set to minimum as the camera is really noisy.

Below is an example of one of those images, about 5 minutes exposure.

get.jpg