SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

3.2mm BST Explorer/Starguider eyepiece- Any good?

Donkeiller

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I used mine last night in my Skywatcher 150PDS and I could see the bands on Jupiter quite well - a little fuzzy perhaps but it was relatively low down in the sky and 3.2mm is approaching max magnification for my scope.

Eye relief is fine, I wear glasses but I also tried it without - extending the eyecup - and it was fine in that respect.

I'm no expert but it all seemed okay to me and at a smidge under £50 well worth it for the views I got.

..........It should be as good as the other BSTs as regards to field of view, eye relief and comfortable to use. 

The atmospheric conditions  will be your enemy, but not only that, on your Celestron 8SE you'll be at about 635x power which is excessive, to say the least, so maybe not the EP of choice on this occasion?

I used mine for the first time last  night in my SW 200 Dobson and I would say was near perfect had to keep moving of course this was witnessed by several member's of SGL south wales group meet at Blaenavon, I would not hesitate  and recommend it, I bought the 3.2mm as a wild card for those rare perfect conditions and last night was far from perfect but the lens performed nearly flawlessly.

I used mine for the first time last  night in my SW 200 Dobson and I would say was near perfect had to keep moving of course this was witnessed by several member's of SGL south wales group meet at Blaenavon, I would not hesitate  and recommend it, I bought the 3.2mm as a wild card for those rare perfect conditions and last night was far from perfect but the lens performed nearly flawlessly.

Thanks that's what I wanted to hear.