Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Jupiter, now I get it.

So I am new to telescope ownership but wanted to post a realization I had this past week when observing Jupiter. Before owning a telescope I simply did not understand the magnificence that was to be found in looking at our closer neighbors. I had convinced myself that nebulae and other deep sky objects were where I belonged. This all changed in the past week though.

For a new observer Jupiter is the perfect target; it's big, bright, and great for most viewing locations. For this reason I decided it was worth taking a look. On my first night observing the planet I was quickly able to find the planet and to my amazement I saw two of the moons (may have over looked the other 2 large moons in my haste). After a moment I also began seeing a darker band on the planet in myu 10mm (65x) eyepeice.

A few days later I revisited Jupiter and spent a little more time with it. I discovered the moons had moved significantly since the previous viewing, and I could see all four (visible) moons. I was also able to make out 2 darker bands this time. Needless to say, I was amazed.

Moving forward, I am hoping to improve my viewing as I spend more time with Jupiter with maybe a tad more magnification and possibly some filter options to reduce the brightness and enhance the contrast. I welcome any advice on the filtering and magnification you veterans may have. Thanks for listening.

Great stuff! There is nothing quite like your first view of Jupiter.

You are dead right. Time at the eyepiece really does bring results. A more magnification will show more but don't go too crazy as as very often it is the atmosphere that limits the detail rather than raw magnification. However, there are rare nights where it will take everything that you can throw at it. They are few and far between.