Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Barlow lenses?!

What the devil are they?! After reading and reading posts on here and a astronomy magazine, I still can't work out what they are.

If I google it, the explaination of them is so confusing...... I am blonde and a female so you can see my issue!!! Lol!

Can anyone explain it to me in simple terms?

I have a celestron astromaster 130EQ. My lenses are 10mm, 20mm erecting eyepiece, 15mm Kellner eyepiece, 6mm plossl eyepiece, 2x power lens. I also have a red, blue and moon filter.

Would a Barlow lens benefit me?

Also, is it worth getting a 30mm lens? I have seen these mentioned also.

Hope someone can help me or point me in the right direction!

Thank you

Gemma

Morning,

By the looks of the equipment you have, you already have one (the x2 power lens). A barlow just extends the effective focal length of the telescope. SO depending upon which eyepiece you put into the x 2 power lens, then that will double it. you can get other powers, but you reach a limit of what each scope s capable of. a usual rule of thumb is x50 per inch of aperture. so my Edge 800 should be able to go to around x400..though on most nights in England we cannot go above x250 due to seeing conditions.

Does that help? Might be a good thing to work out your magnifications with your EP's, and then the barlow will give you other options.

Regards

So your Astromaster has a focal length (as advertised) of 650mm (distance from mirror to where light is focused)

To work out your magnifications, divide the Focal length (650mm) by the size of the EP (also in mm):

650mm / 20mm = x32 magnification

650mm / 15mm = x43 mag

650mm / 10mm = x65 mag

650mm / 6mm = x108 mag

so what the barlow does if x2 is to take the 650mm and double it. Then do the math again:

1300mm (double the effective focal length) / 20mm = x65 mag

1300mm / 15mm = x86 mag

1300mm / 10mm = x130 mag

1300mm / 6mm = x216