SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Heritage 130p Setting Circle

happy-kat

I had a project in mind after seeing numerous other posts on adding a setting circle to a dobsonian mount, so I thought why not...

The Heritage 130p does present a change because the bottom mount is an irregular shape and does not lend to the approach I read about and found great examples of on here.

So I thought I would treat the setting circle as a relative solution and not absolute like the other project threads I had read.

So I have a degree circle on the top base board.

On the underside of the bottom board I have fitted magnetic tape.

I used a jam jar lid and a bit of coat hanger to fashion a moveable degree marker.

For the altitude I bought a Wixey.

When using, of which I am still testing, I find an object that is easy then move the angle marker to a convenient spot and then using Stellarium decide on a nearby target and then I move the top board relative to where the marker to the new object by the distance between the two objects. So if the current object is 97 degrees and the new one 85 I would move the top board 13 degrees in the relevant direction. This in my theory means I don't need to align the mount.

I then use the wixey to change the angle by the relative difference between the two objects.

I didn't need to print any numbers on my setting circle but I wont reprint just for that so I just ignore them.

Each fat marker is 5 degrees apart with a 32mm I get 2 degree FOV.

What I should do next is fashion a level board for the Heritage to sit on as my paving slab base is very off and I think this is not helping my testing.

Also included an image of the attachment bought that means I can use a camera or say my short ST80 refractor on the same mount, makes it very veratile.

First print outs and dummy runs

gallery_28282_3542_359823.jpg