Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

stargazine_ep8_banner.thumb.jpg.7fc4114c7705b14c0786cf342cea1f9c.jpg

pianorealm

Pleased with 1st ever images but can't seem to process?

Hello everyone.

I'm pretty new to astronomy and very new to imaging...WELL.....that is my first real session was last night!

However, I managed to image M42 and though I realize the images won't win any prizes I'm absolutely made up that I can at least recognize M42!

When I view the captured images in APT I think they look really good (to me). The'yre smooth and quite defined.

However, when I've tried to stack them or open them in DSS they look like......well......a Bayer matrix image! (I only know what one looks like and the terminology because I'm using Steve Richards excellent book 'Making every photon count'.

Even if I open the .png files in photoshop the image is much smaller and if I try to enlarge it....well it just sort of pixellates.

I don't really understand de-bayering but thought DSS did that automatically if I stacked and processed?

I'm using a Celestron 8 inch newtonian, Canon 350D and shooting in RAW.

Any help or suggestions would really be appreciated. I've trawled the book and forums but got nowhere!

Many thanks, Howard

DSS Screenshot.doc

DSS image tiff.tif