Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Collimation Query

Hi everyone. Have now got my Skywatcher Skyliner 200p, but have problems with collimation & aligning the finder scope, despite reading all the various instructions I can find. I know they're straightforward tasks but as a complete beginner (& very much a "non-Techy" type!) I'm still struggling. I'm therefore hoping to get some hands-on assistance from the shop I bought it from (Tring Astronomy) as they said they'd gladly do this. My question is this:- once they've collimated the 'scope, is the 45 minute car journey back home likely to knock the collimation out again? What is it exactly that throws the collimation out? Moving the 'scope around? Temperature changes? Other things?? Obviously hoping that this will be a one-off trip & that, having been shown what to do by an expert, I'll be able to do it myself thereafter. Sorry for the (probably daft) questions.Thanks. TSG

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Not daft all.Well worth the drive in order to learn hands on from an expert. Just be prepared to spend something, impossible to go into such a shop and not do. ;)

The drive should be OK providing you don't bash the tube about. Everything you mention can have an effect, but these 200P telescopes are very forgiving. My secondary has not gone out of line in over 12 months and the primary just requires a small tweak now and then.

You'll soon get the hang of things.

Align finder, point main telescope at distant object, center in eyepiece, then look through finder and adjust finder until same object is centered in finder view. Job done. Tweak at night on a bright star.