Finding the Planets

Dogsnogger

Hi

I am new to the site and am after a bit of advice as i am a complete beginner when it comes to star gazing!

i got a Skywatcher 130 for christmas and can just about find the moon with it!  do i really nedd to polar align it befor i can truely begin watching the stars and do i have to do this every time i do?

How difficult is it to locate the planets, i have a star map but have to admit i am a bit daunted by dials and settings on my telescope!

can anyone please help or ofdfer advice

Many thanks

Hi welcome to SGL from Pete in Bedfordshire :smiley:  Jupiter is very easy to find at the moment, rising in the east in the constelation Leo around 8pm. it is very bright and its moons can be see through your telescope comfortably. Venus will be an easy spot as January progresses as well, low in the west after sunset.

down load stellarium http://www.stellarium.org/en_GB/ it is free planetarium for your PC. Calsky is also a very usefull site for all things astronomy http://www.calsky.com/

Welcome to SGL. No you don't need to Polar Align in order to enjoy the telescope. But you will need to be able to use the flexible control knobs when observing in order to remain on target. (assuming that you have an EQ Mount).

For quick visual use, I regularly plonk the mount with the N leg towards compass north and enjoy the views.

Polar aligning is required for imaging with this type of kit, more advanced kit can be computer controlled, so even then the problem can be avoided.

A star atlas is a really good starter for finding your way around the sky and learning your constellations.You don't have to spend loads to get one. You will find a monthy star chart in the Astronomy Now magazine and the Sky at Night Mag. There are a number of apps for Mobile phones and I Pads which are also very useful for finding your way around. Best of luck and enjoy