Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

HELP first image of the orion nebular

alcol620

Hi folks

Managed to get out in the backyard last night, first time for a couple of months and took some images of the Orion Nebular.

I took 10 images of 15 seconds at ISO 1600 using a moded Canon 1100d  attached to mypost-36789-0-67924600-1419189025_thumb.j Celestron 8SE with 6.3 reducer. 10 darks were also taken at the same settings. I am a novice at DSO imaging and would welcome any comments on the attached and how it can be improved using Photoshop.

The images were captured using APT software and stacked using Deep Sky Stacker

Any comments would be welcome, including negatives.

Thanks for looking 

Hi,

First things first, you really need a light pollution filter, as that looks quite bad for 15second images, if I take 3 minute subs they look like that and I use a LP filter.

You will notice a real difference, trust me, then you can take longer subs and get a lot more detail

:) :)

SS

Hi,

First things first, you really need a light pollution filter, as that looks quite bad for 15second images, if I take 3 minute subs they look like that and I use a LP filter.

You will notice a real difference, trust me, then you can take longer subs and get a lot more detail

:) :)

SS

Forgot to mention, with the 1000D camera stick to ISO 800, you will get a lot of noise at 1600, and they will overexposed before you get much detail, because of the LP.

Hope all that helps

SS

Hi Alcol,

I'm a total newbie to this, but took a few shots the other night of Orion at 1600 and stacked them in DSS. It ended up looking like this...

Iso 1600

Really had very little idea what I was doing so just played with the histogram. Might be similar setting will work on yours if you fiddle with the graph until it looks something like that?