Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Aldi v Lidl scopes

Hi,

I bought a £40 Dobson telescope from Aldi the other day but suspect it might not be very good at all! I notice that Lidl has a Bresser one for sale tomorrow  that seems higher quality for £70.

This is just for my 7 year old for Christmas who is very interested in space and the stars, so I don't want to spend a fortune for a complete beginner... but should I take the Dobson back and get the Bresser from Lidl? The Bresser has a tripod at least...

You can probably tell I know very little about telescopes!

The truth is that workable telescopes cost more than this. I would stay clear of high street stores and start here; http://www.firstlightoptics.com/beginner-telescopes/skywatcher-heritage-100p-tabletop-dobsonian.html

It is also vital to have some way of knowing where to point the telescope or you will just see blackness and a few stars, though the moon won't disappoint. There is the free planetarium Stellarium http://www.stellarium.org/en/ which an adult might peruse before Christmas so as to be able to help a child find things to look at in the new scope. WIthout an idea of what to look at and how to find it an astronomical telescope is remarkably useless. The universe is a big place...

Olly

Edit, Starfox beat me to the link but we agree.

I took the Aldi one back - will probably order the Skywatcher Heritage 76 Mini Dobsonian as suggested by Bingevader.

Digger1895 - What is a Special Ramsden ocular 4mm? Is this something useful or are making a joke?

Would it be worth putting a shout out on this forum to see if anyone has owned and used the Heritage 76 Mini Dob? You know, just to make sure its a proper good quality working optical instrument that's not going to upset your childs interest in astronomy.