Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

NEQ6 goto - poor instructions.

Hi all,

Just having my first nights observing using my shiny new NEQ6 :smiley: but struggling a bit with the goto hand set instructions.

Anyone else find the menus on the handset are difficult to navigate ? I seem to keep getting to parts of the menu where it gets difficult to go back to the beginning if I'm in the wrong menu selection.

Does anyone know if there is a more user friendly instruction manual online ?

Also, when observing using the goto search after I've centered  objects in the eyepiece is there anyway to tell the mount each time that the object is now centered so that the mount can continually recalibrate itself and improve its accuracy ?

I'm new to the Goto system and can see it's going to take sometime to get the hang of it !

Anyway, time to have a cuppa while I wait for my first siting of Jupiter through a scope for years :smiley:

Thanks

Peter.

First time out it can be a bit daunting but it doesn't take long to get the hang of it.

My advice would be to play around in doors where its warm during the day and just fiddle about - its a lot tougher when its cold and dark and its easy to let the stress of wanting it to do stuff get in the way of learning it.

Agree with the comments above. I found the manual quite easy if a bit long. It will soon become second nature. As Tinker says the Escape key is just that, an escape. Note that the PAE only corrects within about 5' of the object you are dealing with at the time. It basically remaps that area of the sky. How was Jupiter??

Agree with the comments above. I found the manual quite easy if a bit long. It will soon become second nature. As Tinker says the Escape key is just that, an escape. Note that the PAE only corrects within about 5' of the object you are dealing with at the time. It basically remaps that area of the sky. How was Jupiter??