Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

new member ,hi there......

rocket man

hi im new to astronomy ,and im about to buy my first scope for me and my daughter,can any one recomend any ,im on the verge of ordering the skywatcher

skyliner 300px or 350 dobsonion ,i have had financial clearence from my boss? the other half ....

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi, and welcome to SGL!

My scopes are quite small, but then, I use them more for photography than observing.

Both of those scopes sound quite good for observing because of their relatively large aperture. I hope those that are using those scopes will come along and give you more information.

I would suggest you buy a couple of books to initially help you find your way around the sky. I bought "Guide to Stars and Planets" by Sir Patrick Moore (bought in Waterstones) which I have found useful, but again, I am sure others can suggest more titles!

Hi and welcome to SGL - Good advise so far - As I understand it these scopes are quite a size. Do you have sufficient storage and also is it going to be easy to get it to an observing place? 

Look forward to seeing you around :)

Hi, rocket man, a warm welcome to SGL - and to the worlds of amateur astronomy!

Both the scopes you have mentioned can give terrific views of  the night sky - no doubt about that. There are a number of other considerations to take into account, though (and apologies if you have already considered/explored these). Firstly, as has already been mentioned, is the size of the scopes, and their weight. If you haven't done already I would recommend seeing (and getting a feel for) both scopes before buying.