Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Best filter for general astrophotography

Hello everyone. I am just starting out with astrophotography and have an Orion ED80T CF mounted on my Orion Altas EQ-G. I plan to use my unmodified Canon Xsi for imaging.

Does anybody have any recommendations as to the best general purpose filter for astrophotography and which brands make the best filters? I am only wanting to spend the money on 1 filter for now.  :grin:

Thanks in advance!

Christopher

Narrowband (Ha,Olll and Sll)  filters are not really suitable for DSLR cameras (modded or unmodded).  You need to decide if you have any light pollution and, if so, what the source of that pollution is.  In the UK we have sodium streetlights which emit strongly in the yellow part of the spectrum and you can get away with a simple and cheap light pollution filter that blocks these yellow wavelengths.  If you have a different light source then you may need a different filter.

Narrowband (Ha,Olll and Sll)  filters are not really suitable for DSLR cameras (modded or unmodded).  You need to decide if you have any light pollution and, if so, what the source of that pollution is.  In the UK we have sodium streetlights which emit strongly in the yellow part of the spectrum and you can get away with a simple and cheap light pollution filter that blocks these yellow wavelengths.  If you have a different light source then you may need a different filter.

Ok, thanks. I will look into the light pollution near me.

Would you mind explaining or pointing me to a link that explains why narrow band filters don't work well with a DSLR? Thanks!