Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Advice regarding telescope

Hi,

Probably you are tired receiving these kind of requests :) , yet me, the newbee, wants to get a telescope. I was wondering if  I've made the best choice, and if not... maybe you give me and alternative.

The situation is as follows :

1. I have never used a telescope before (but I am overwhelmed when I see pictures of planets)

2. I want to observe planets mainly, the sun, the moon, and last DSO (I guess I can't get too much regarding DSO's, from such a budget)

3. My budget is ~650e (or less...)

4. I chose Celestron Omni XLT 120 (in my country it costs 650e...)

5. Definately I would love to make astrophotography in future with my telescope, I own a DSLR .. but that is another story and I need to master basics before getting intro astrophoto.

How do you see the learning curve regarding the XLT120 use?

Can you offer me a better solution for planet watching (or nice DSO) than the XLT120?

Thank you in advance for your patience,

I think the XLT 120 is a very good first choice and should give you lots of pleasure in the years to come.  It should give great views of the planets and the Moon, however, it is not the best scope for astrophotography as it has no tracking.  The Nexstar series do have this function but I suggest you get familiar with the night sky first using the XLT, it is a very capable scope for visual use.

I have the OMNI XLT 120mm on a CG-4 mount.

Before going on, let me caution you about viewing the Sun... Don't even attempt it without the proper equipment (ie: a filter, etc.)  Even exposing your finder scope (unprotected) can damage it.

The XLT is a very good achro refractor.  It demonstrates very little Chromatic Aberation, even on a bright planet like Jupiter.  I've viewed dozens of DSOs with mine.

The mount will track well enough for medium exposures when properly polar aligned and employing an optional RA drive motor.