Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Telescope advise please.

Hello folks, a newbie seeking advice on a first telescope purchase , after a great deal of research through going online , reading different forum topics , I have decided to go for the Orion astro view 120 St ,or the Skywatcher startravel 120 ,the Orion comes on a eq mount ,the skywatcher on a altaz mount ( I am aware of the differences ) .So first question is"are they as good as each other , for a couple of hundred pounds difference "? , I already have a decent dslr camera as I am a keen photographer ,so I would like to take some shots of the moon to begin with ,once again through my research I am aware that I would need to but the adapter to suit my camera ,I also like the idea of using the scope in the day for photography , I have chosen refractors because I have read that the optics tend to look after themselves and don't require regular collimating , any feedback would be great ! Thanks

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hello and welcome to SGL. Optically there should be no difference between the Orion 120ST and The Skywatcher 120ST, they are both made by the same company. The difference in price is due to two factors. Firstly the equatorial mount supplied with the Orion 120ST costs more than the simpler alt-azimuth AZ3 mount supplied with the Skywatcher 120ST. Secondly, Orion products tend to cost more in the UK than their Skywatcher equivalents.

Regular Collimating takes less than a minute, its not a "Black Art" very easy to learn how.......

Is this correct on a refractor ?

Since there is no centre spot or secondary to adjust I would have said that it was a longer activity then with a reflector.

The OP is referring to either of 2 refractors.

Regular Collimating takes less than a minute, its not a "Black Art" very easy to learn how.......