Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

Sign in to follow this  
iang

A newbie intro and straight into the questions!

Evening everyone. Ive finally been bitten by the bug and would like to start looking at the stars through my own telescope.

I hope you can help me take my first steps and educate me in this interesting subject.

My question is this:

I am a complete novice looking to buy my first telescope and would ask for your suggestions bearing in mind I want to photograph the planets and constellations.

My budget? I reckon around £300-£400ish to begin with. Perhaps I should be asking what a decent photography 'scope would cost.

So, That's my long winded intro. I look forward to getting to know you and learning more with your help.

regards

Ian

Hi Ian,

You have asked quite a difficult question and you'll get dozens of different answers.

The way that I started is the following.

Its a 8" scope on a driven EQ5 mount. This will give you good views visually of both planets and Deep Sky objects. There are better scopes for planets - but this IMO is a good compromise.

It comes in at £4 over the top end of your budget.

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/proddetail.php?prod=200eq5

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/proddetail.php?prod=dualmotoreq5

This has the drives needed to track the skies - but doesn't have GOTO - so you'll have to find the objects yourself, which is half the fun.

How are you going to take pictures of the objects you want? Do you already have a camera / webcam or does that need to be included n the budget?

Anyway, welcome to SGL.

Ant

How are you going to take pictures of the objects you want? Do you already have a camera / webcam or does that need to be included n the budget?

Hi Ant,