Narrowband

beginner....go easy!

Hello there!

After discovering my 6 year old son took genuine interest in my own interest looking up at the stars, i though it would be a great time to finally purchase myself a telescope after years of saying i would.  

Please excuse my lack of terminology and techno talk, as whilst i totally understand the principle of how a telescope works, i'm just beginning to look into the technical approach of what i need to get started.

So the main and no doubt obvious question i have in regard to purchasing a telescope is whats the best value for money, or to put it a better way, i want to spend the least possible to start with and get the best i can. lets say no more than £100 give or take. 

I've looked on ebay and amazon, and there is so much choice around. I would even consider buying a second hand one.

I am quite certain a reflector is the best one to go for and thats as far as i have got. Whilst i dont want to run before i can walk as the saying goes, i would rather get one that can keep me and my son interested for a good while.

Any suggestions and advice etc would be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards

John

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi John,

The first thing I would suggest is to take your time and consider your options fully before you buy a first scope :grin:.

The second (and probably best) piece of advice I can give is to try and locate a local astronomy club. Contact them and head to an observing session and have a go on other peoples scopes to see what you like. It may help you narrow down your choices a bit.

Also have a look at the forum sponsors site (FLO) as they have a beginners scope page and come highly recommended in terms of customer service:

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/beginner-telescopes.html

welcome to the forum John,

best bang for buck would be something like this,

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/dobsonians/skywatcher-skyliner-200p-dobsonian.html