Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Blank Images

Reubeng

Hello, I am completely new to this, and have kind of jumped in at the deep end.

Me and my brother wanted to do some astrophotography so he bought the scope and I got the camera.

I have a canon 600d.

He has a celestron compustar 8" without the y2k chip (he's a bit mad about not having it... even though the seller stated it did)

but we tried to take some images tonight for the first time and all the images came up with the same set of RGB dots on them and nothing else. (using a laptop to live view the image and to change the settings)

Now I have got home and am looking at the images in lightroom and these dots are not showing up.

I thought these dots were a sensor problem with the camera and they still could be, but when opening the images in Lightroom the dots show for a second then disappear.(see image)

a1fc079322.jpg

When looking through the Telescope with the eyepiece we can see things clearly but when attaching the camera it is just black with these dots in the same place every time. Taking an image with 

the camera lens cap on displays the same dots.

So if anyone could help me diagnose what these dots are and why we are not getting anything through the telescope i would be very grateful.

Thank you 

have you altered the focus from eyepiece to camera if not then that is your problem you need to find a bright star then focus the camera on it.the camera focuses at a different focal point than the eye piece.

Coloured dots are usually dead pixels on the sensor chip.

These are normal...the darks will eliminate them.

I can only think your exposure time is not long enough and maybe the ISO setting is too low.

Also, the focus for the eyepiece will be different from the camera. Try focussing the camera on the Moon or something bright like a distant streetlight...or even something in the daytime.

If you are trying to image stars way out of focus, you may seem to be getting blank frames.