Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First binoculars, what to get ?HELP

Hi everyone!

I am hoping to purchase my first binoculars with a buget of £100.

I know most of you will think a telescope is more worth while however, I am hoping to get familiar with observing as I am no pro yet lol!

If any of you recommend a first pair of binoculars it would be much appreciated. I have been looking at CELESTRON SKYMASTER 20x80 and it seems obvious that I will need a tripod for this as they are heavy and I must admit I aren't the strongest of people to hold them!

I look forward to hearing from you all and hopefully i will have my new binoculars soon

Hi and welcome.

Binoculars are a great start.  Have a look at Stephen's  site  http://www.binocularsky.com/ for more information, and come back with some more questions when your ready.

I now personally prefer wide view binoculars, hence my 8x40's  , but there is nothing like having the higher magnifications afforded from a telescope.

Note, there is  also a Binocular section in the Equipment  forum , more information there. Unless the mods move this thread.

Thanks for the reply!

There seems to be a lot of choice and it all seems really confusing for a first time buyer lol!

I was thinking the Celestron 20x80 however, have now come across the 17x50 and although there is an obvious difference in price range is there really any difference in the views?

Thanks for the reply!

There seems to be a lot of choice and it all seems really confusing for a first time buyer lol!

I was thinking the Celestron 20x80 however, have now come across the 17x50 and although there is an obvious difference in price range is there really any difference in the views?

Not heard of 17x50 bins, are you thinking of the very popular 15x70s ? At my local club, our advice is to start with binos, spend a year with them learning the sky and

looking through club member's scopes before thinking of buying a telescope.