Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Do I need to polar align???

Hiya. I have recently treated myself to a skywatcher 209p and a heq5 synscan. I am a novice with this. Had a skywatcher 150 and eq3 then a sky prodigy 6 but didn't get on with that so treated myself. I am pretty beginner and have watched some YouTube vids about polar alignment. I guess when I have done it a few times I will be fine. But for general setting up and finding objects with the goto what is the easiest way to do this and will it be accurate. Thanks for your help. Hope for clear sky's !

Hi

It is not hard to align it, and it will be so much easier to use your scope. For simple watching you don't need to align it properly - no setting the dials and getting Polaris to right place, just get it to ~center of polarscope.

Ok thanks. So I set up my mount with the north leg facing north. Balance the telescope and mount and look through the polar scope and get Polaris in the centre of the polar scope by adjusting the dec and ra?or use the hand controler? Then do two star alignment and hopefully using the goto will take me to what I want to see..........

I am new to this game to and at the moment I just observe but I want to get into AP soon(ish)so I quite enjoy doing polar alignment. Once levelled and using a compass to get as near to north as possible the Pole Star was almost aligned anyway although I did find having an app on the phone makes the whole thing easier to do too.

Ok thanks. So I set up my mount with the north leg facing north. Balance the telescope and mount and look through the polar scope and get Polaris in the centre of the polar scope by adjusting the dec and ra?or use the hand controler? Then do two star alignment and hopefully using the goto will take me to what I want to see..........