Narrowband

Hello

recall2005

Hello,

I've just joined - I'm pretty new to astronomy. I'm 42, a, dare i say it? Tax inspector. I live in clifton in bristol and have ok skies (I think) to the north which has a large open area (the downs for locals) but have a lot of orange to the south.

I just have a small scope, an 80mm f5 skywatcher (which is meant to be quite good) and a webcam (SC1.5???) from ebay which seems to go black every time i plug the parallel lead in but works ok without it. I'm hoping to take some photographs of galaxies and nebulas but expect this to take time.

If anyone knows where i can find a decent tutorial for k3ccd or astroart, that would be a help. If anyone knows how i can work this camera, that would be a help also. I wrote to the man that sold it to me and he sent me a web address but it doesn't work.

I tried a shot of mars on saturday morning but the man that sold me the camera said my scope was too small for planets. is that right? It was just a dot in the picture. It was all blue one side and red the other and very blurry.

Thanks In Advance

Steve B

Steve, the warmest of welcomes to the asylum!

A Tax Inspector, eh? Well guess what? I'm a Tax Collector!

That makes me even more unpopular than you! :)

Of course we're all part of Revenue & Customs nowadays - but enough about work..............

Can't really help you out on your enquiry, though there should be others here who can. They'll be along soon enough. Unfortunately, I'm a film dinosaur!

Anyway, just wanted to say 'welcome'. Enjoy yourself here & make yourself at home. :)

A Band D?

24 yrs man and boy I've been IR - it's hard to suddenly be HMRC but hey they say a change is as good as a rest. I've always found a rest better. I've only just finished the inspector's course a little while back so I'm new to the game. I hear promotions are hard to come by as well, I nearly moved to reading.

Oxford TDO is it then?

Steve B

Steve,