SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Newbie with the night sky

Hi everybody

As my title says I'm a complete beginner! I'm a photographer so I'm interesting in merging the two together. I have never owned a telescope but I have been doing some research and there are so many terminologies I'm not familiar with.

To narrow things down I'm currently looking at a Skywatcher Explorer 150p (hoping for something less than £300). I'm interested in the planets at the moment and would love to be able to see Jupiter in particular.

I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts or could point me in the right direction

Lizie

There is a big difference between photography and astrophotography.

When in photography do you have the take 20 exposures each of 60 seconds where the object is moving, then stack one on another in order to get enough collected light to build up an image.

There is an astronomy club at Sturdington, I suggest you visit them and see if there is an imaging section. If there is visit and enquire about the various aspects.

http://fedastro.org.uk/cgi-bin2/cms-society2.php?societyid=30443

This is the fedastro entry, the club site seems to not list it's address.

The 150P generally cannot attain focus onto a DSLR sensor, you would need the PDS variant.

For planets the most common method is an Alt/Az (goto) Mak or SCT with a web cam. You track the planet, take a video (.avi) then feed this into something like Registax. A webcam is no real use for DSO's and a DSLR is not much use for planets. Throw in that for DSO's and long exposures you need an equitorial mount (driven). You can work out that planetary imaging is different to DSO imaging.

Astrophotography is generally expensive.