SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

M31: Andromeda galaxy (LRGB)

MikeWilson

My first image post in how many years..?

post-6025-0-46234300-1410132743_thumb.pn

Finally my nomadic-astronomy existence is settling down and I've found a few minutes to obtain this image. I'm not happy with it at all, but what I am happy with is how good the data is considering there's essentially zero light pollution here, no gradients at all even on extreme stretching. Considering what I was used to from Farnborough, the sky could not be more different. It took me two hours to polar align as I kept aligning on the wrong star. All my astro software appeared to have been out of date and needed updating too. It's amazing how much things move on when you're out of the loop.

Anyhow, here's a quick and dirty process of Andromeda just to see what it looks like. I'm fairly new to mono/narrowband processing and I've just aligned everything in Nebulosity 3 and processed in Photoshop. I'm unhappy with the colour of the stars - I didn't blur the RGB layer before sticking luminance on top - and I also forgot to take bias frames in the 2x2 bin too.

L = 35x30s + 7x180s
R = 6x180s
G = 6x180s
B = 5x180s
The stacking was done in DSS, and I'm a perturbed that I didn't get the dust lanes to the core of the galaxy like they show on even individual 30 second subs. 
I've just bought PixInsight (literally ten minutes ago), perhaps there's a tool in there to mask and layer on two luminance layers for HDR processing of bright objects like this?
Any critique is warmly appreciated. Be harsh please!

Thanks Pete,

Those halos; it's my alignment. I just can't get a decent alignment of the RGB channels. It's been a problem for me of the last two years - so I'm going to see if PixInsight can do a better job aligning the RGB channels so that there's not a bit of each colour sticking out at various places. A gaussian blur would probably help here too.

Thanks Pete,