SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Telephoto Vs Telescope

I have recently been getting into the camera side of things and stumbled across the similarity between a camera lens and a telescope

i have a astromaster 130, (650mm focal length, F5) and i am getting a 250mm telephoto lens for my 700D, (250mm * 1.6 crop factor = 400mm focal length, F4)

Does this mean that the camera lens is as good as my telescope, yes it has a shorter focal length but better light gathering.

• Replies 75
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Alan

I don't own a decent lens camera and I can't answer your question I'm afraid but I have wondered these same things. Also, whether instead of spending best part of a grand on a telephoto, a photographer could buy a half decent telescope which would maybe have more power in some cases?

Just thoughts really.

I have recently been getting into the camera side of things and stumbled across the similarity between a camera lens and a telescope

i have a astromaster 130, (650mm focal length, F5) and i am getting a 250mm telephoto lens for my 700D, (250mm * 1.6 crop factor = 400mm focal length, F4)

Does this mean that the camera lens is as good as my telescope, yes it has a shorter focal length but better light gathering.

Why do you say the camera lens has better light gathering capabilities? surely the aperture is not 130mm. It will be slightly faster at f4 but you'll probably find you need to wind it back an f/stop or two. It will be a good lens for some of those larger dso's though and great for a portable mount such as an astrotrac etc.

While superficially similar,  a camera lens is designed to be a general purpose device to get the best out of high-brightness (compared to astronomy) scenes and with the whole scene full of "image". Its meant to operate over a wide range of focal lengths and F-stops / apertures.