Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

DSLR vs Telescope for astro photography

I am a serious photographer that has become interested in astro photography. Should I invest in an AstroTrac so I can reuse my Canon 5D Mark III and 400 mm lens or invest in a proper telescope with tracking and the ability to mount my camera body directly to the telescope?

Stick with the lens for the time being , with a full-frame DSLR you'll experience serious vignetting with a 'scope and will be wasting an awful lot of that lovely big sensor.

An Astrotrac on a good solid tripod would be my choice too.

If serious then you invest in a apo refractor, a good solid equitorial goto mount, a guide scope, guide camera and a cooled ccd, throw in a flattener for the scope.

Budget $2000-3000 for each of the main bits - scope, mount and ccd, and say $1500 for the guide camera and scope.

You might have change from $10,000 if serious.

Before you think I am joking or winding you up 3 times that expenditure is not uncommon.

You will get wide field images with a camera and a lens, however on images like M42, M45 they will be too small and simply appear insignificant compared to the overall background they are in. So for "objects" a scope is required.

Sorry Ronin but a 5D MKIII and a 400mm lens gives a great view of M42 , M45 and especially M31 ...  :smiley:

post-21219-0-08920100-1407609379_thumb.p

post-21219-0-79701800-1407609398_thumb.p

post-21219-0-62668600-1407609414_thumb.p

Yes you can go mad and spend 10,000+ , but just spending serious cash does not necessarily mean getting serious results .

$1500 for a guidescope and camera? mine cost £185 for the camera and £50 for a second hand st-80 :). seems to work.

I don't necessarily think that being serious means spending crazy money...unless of course you've got it. In that case, go mad :D