Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Are These Photos What You See Through Your 'Scope?

wallis23

Forgive me for being dumb, but i'm still very new to all of this. I just wondered, these photos, are they what you see through your EPs? Surely the detail isn't this good through the EP? Is the magnification the same though? Thanks for your understanding.

P.S. Same goes for DSOs.

Not really :D When imaging a planet you take lots of shots and 'stack' them together, eventually producing the images you see posted here. With a good enough scope and plenty of magnification you can see quite a bit of the details posted here but it is usually a lot more subtle when looking through the EP. Also when you are looking through an EP you are looking for a moment of good seeing when the air turbulence dies down for a second or 2, then you can make out the detail a bit more.

Not really :D When imaging a planet you take lots of shots and 'stack' them together, eventually producing the images you see posted here. With a good enough scope and plenty of magnification you can see quite a bit of the details posted here but it is usually a lot more subtle when looking through the EP. Also when you are looking through an EP you are looking for a moment of good seeing when the air turbulence dies down for a second or 2, then you can make out the detail a bit more.

I thought so. Thanks for clearing it up.

Dso's are usually a dissapointment through the eyepiece,You will not see colour or the fine detail you see in the images posted on the Forum.

Saying that its still very impressive to see some of the showcase Galaxies,Nebula's and Clusters ,they give you a real sense of the vastness of Space.

The way I explain it away is this

the human eye/brain work together very well as a point n shoot type camera but we cannot manage to do long exposures in our eye to brains functions.