SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

How often do you upgrade?

I am pretty sure most people have a series of wishlists and future upgrade plans, but I wonder what kind of turnaround time people have had and what their longest stint on a particular setup was, and also what are the common progressions in terms of upgrades (6'' to 10'' newt for instance)?

I am new to all this, but realised quite quickly that my AstroMaster 130EQ was going to just be the start and I pretty quickly upgraded to an imaging setup and a Dob for visual. I intend to remain with this for a while although with just a DSLR shared with my wife for fashion photography as well, a CCD combo is looming large. My wishlist and 'ideal' setup is coming out pretty pricey...

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply

There doesn't seem to be a hard and fast rule. I've still got my first scope (and one or two more). sadly I don't seem to be able to part with things too easily. There's one or two on here that seem to change their kit almost weekly. To each their own I say :D

I've usually got some upgrade options in the back of my mind but, as I buy my stuff on the used market, the timing is driven by something becoming available at the same time that I have some capital to work with.

The pace of scope and eyepiece upgrading has slowed over the past couple of years for me because I'm probably more or less where I want to be now in those departments. If I buy anything now it's more out of curiosity than need if I'm honest about it  :rolleyes2:

I don't image which helps keep things under control a bit I think. The pace of change in that arena has been staggering over the past couple of years and I can see why the temptation for frequent upgrades is there. 

Good question, i have only had my kit for about a year but i am sure it will stay for a very long time.