Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Refractor on Alt-Az mount question

Until now I've only used a reflecting telescope on a Dobsonian mount (Skywatcher Heritage 130P), but am thinking of getting a refractor on an Alt-Az mount (possibly a StarTravel 120).

As I have no experience with this kind of setup, I'd like to know if, as with the Dobsonian, you can easily 'glide' through the sky just moving the OTA with your hand while viewing at the same time?

Thanks for any advice.

I use this sort of setup all the time. It's just as easy to use as a dobsonian mount. Some alt-az mounts have slow motion controls (eg: Skywatcher AZ-3 and the Vixen Porta) but the "push only" ones like the AZ-4 and the Giro are just as easy and effective to use in my opinion.

I use an ED120 refractor on a Giro type mount and a 4" ED refractor on an AZ-4 mount.

The only caution I'd add is that refractors 5" and over in aperture are really big beasts and alt-azimuth mounts that can handle them need to be robust and well engineered.

The AZ4 has adjustable clutches which allow gliding or holding in a fixed position. Simply loosen or tighten the clutches to suit. The mount comes with a pan handle to aid movement, but I find pushing the scope just as easy. Handles my 100ED frac easily. Having the scope correctly balanced helps.

i have the AZ4 mount with aluminium tripod - its lightweight and portable while still solid and stable, just perfect for my skymax 127.

it doesn't have small motion controls  like the AZ3 but it is super easy to operate - just push and point the scope to wherever you like, even directly at the zenith (where the AZ3

fails) . 

I've been using my Evostar 120 frac on a AZ4 (steel legs) and it's been fine up to x240 ish (i.e. max I would want to use on a non-tracking mount anyway), there's a bit of wobble at high mag but it damps down quickly enough, I'm in no rush to upgrade but I can see a SkyTee-2 mount would make a nice upgrade.