Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Galactic Coordinates of Earth on 01/01/2214

I realize this may be a strange request but I'm hoping some-one can point me in the right direction.

I'm currently studying a Masters of Fine Art Photography in CT, and have been making landscapes
of earth that are void of life. These landscapes are set 200 years in the future, which could be the
fictional time when humans have stripped the earth of all its natural resources.

In order to date this project - I am making a book - I want to give the galactic coordinates of earth in 200 years on the front cover.

From what I understand you can only get the precise coordinates of earth by using the day / date you are referring to, as earth is constantly moving.

I can't for the life of me find out what the precise galactic coordinates would be on Jan 1st 2214....

Is there anyone (out there) that could?

I appreciate any help in this matter - my book goes to press on Wed.

Kind regards,

Eliza2Jane

Earth's position isn't really referenced to any "galactic coordinates". Although the sky can be marked with a galactic longitude and latitude it's more a system for locating and referencing celestial objects. It's a Sun-centric system that doesn't lend itself to describing the Solar Systems motion round the galaxy on a scale of hundreds of years.

The nearest thing I can think of that sounds scientific and does have its uses is the Julian Date : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Julian_day

Is that what you have in mind?

• 1 year later...