Narrowband

What Telescope To Get?

Hi,

As you can tell, I am new to the world of telescopes and astronomy. I have several questions about telescopes in general.

1) Some telescopes come with the ability to pinpoint stars and planets automatically with coordinates or some other technology. I'm wondering if it is possible to manually move those telescopes. I haven't been able to find the answer to this question anywhere, but I prefer one that is able to be manually moved over automatic movement if they are not able to move.

2) As far as I know, there are 4 types of telescopes: The Dobsonian, Refractor, Reflector, and Cassegrain telescopes. Which one is more advantageous to a beginner and which would be of use to a beginner for a longer period as they progress through their "stargazing journey?"

3) What are the advantages and disadvantages of the four aforementioned types of telescopes?

Thank you for reading and all help is much appreciated!

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome to SGL.

The GOTO scopes can be set to go to particular objects be they stars, galaxies, nebulae or planets. Celstron and Skywatcher bothhave these in different formats.

$ for $ the Dobsonians often give the best value for apeture and are well favoured on this site for good reasons. The Skywatcher dobs do have goto and those ones also allow a manual push to the object too.

Dobs are relectors, Cassegrain arereflectors too but they use a combination of mirrors to fold the light making the tube shorter, they are often known as SCT.

Refractors use lenses to focus the light to the eye piece, they tend to be more expensive size for size.

With any telescope the bigger the lens or mirror the greater the ability to grab light and see dimmer objects.

What sort of observing do you want to do, planetary, DSO? That will affetc the F ratio of the scope you choose.

But from seeing what folk post on here the 150-200mm Dobs seem to be good all rounders.