Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

PST or LUNT? Help please

Hello all,

firstly I have no experience of solar observing at all, other than lying on a beach on holidays. However, I have been fascinated with the images that are posted on this site daily looking at the sun in Ha.

So I have decided I am getting a solar scope. I don't need a huge fancy all singing all dancing one but I would like to be able to see the whole sun in through the eyepiece and use higher magnification for closer study of interesting areas. I believe you can use normal eyepieces (please correct me if I am wrong).

So after some google searching and reading lots of reviews I think either the Corona PST or a Lunt (either the 35mm model or the new 50mm when it comes out).

Without wishing to throw a grenade into the crowd asking this question can anyone with experience on the subject please let me know your thoughts. I worry about the problems that plagued the early PST models and I have read great things about the Lunt 35mm. If I go Lunt should I wait for the 50mm scope? or will the 35mm scope be sufficient to my needs. Also, is the PST actually better / different.

Basically if someone can chime in on the differences or pros / cons of either. Also whether I need bigger apperture for such a bright object. 

Thanks.

Hi Charlie,

I have a lunt 60 and having looked through quite a few psts I would say the views are greatly enhanced with the additional aperture.

Therefore if you can afford it I would recommend you hang on and get the Lunt 50.

It will be fine on your eq3 mount.

I have to say I have also been very impressed with the Lunt build quality and general feel.

Good luck with your choice!

+1 for the Lunt 50. The Sun may be bright, but more aperture also gives you more resolving power. Given the price of the Lunt 50 and that it has pressure tuning, the Lunt 50 looks worth the extra to me if budget allows.