Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Help with Autoguiding an iOptron ZEQ25 using an Atik one 6.0

Hi, I am after some fairly basic advice on getting started with autoguiding.   My set-up is as shown in my signature and the Atik One 6.0 with the integrated Off Axis Guider and Atik GP is a pretty new bit of kit which I have had some success with normal guiding, and I am keen to try out Autoguiding (which I have never tried before).  Now, I will get onto asking for advice on using software later, but my first question is how do I set things up in terms of connecting the camera / computer / mount to one another? 

Atik One 6.0 Camera to the OAG Atik GP is via a  MiniUSB cable, Ok with this :).

Atik One 6.0 Camera to the Laptop is pretty obvious (standard USB cable).

Now I am lost; how do I connect the Laptop to the Mount.  Here is a picture of the guide Port on the mount:-

ZEQ25GT-ports-500w.jpg

Can someone please give me a link to what cable I would need to connect the Laptop to this Port (I assume that this is what I need to do).  Once I have achieved this, I will follow up with what software is best to use for Autoguiding (PHD or the supplied Artemis Capture software via the Tracking function).

Thanks in advance,

Dave :)

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hello, First congrats on choosing one of the best mounts money can buy. I personally run a 9x50 162mm guidescope with a meade DSI 1 mono CCD with a usb cable to the laptop and then  back out to the hand controller with a usb cable using an FTDI usb serial converter. I've never used the ST4 port so maybe someone else can chime in on that set up. My setup is quite bulletproof and i get 10 minute guided exposures with perfectly round stars using PHD2 and either Backyard EOS or APT to take the images.

Umm from what ive heard all you beed to do is connect the aitoguider to to computer and to the mount hia autoguider port. But still dont blame me if im wrong im just trying to help. ☺