Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

How to decide what matters with a planetary camera

As a relative newbie I've been reading through loads of posts and talking to people, but struggling to decide which of the various things matter when trying to pick what planetary camera I should get.

1) CMOS vs CCD - what determines which type is best?

2) chip size - typically 1/4", 1/3" or 1/2 ". Is biggest necessarily best

3) pixel size - is smallest pixel size going to produce the crispest images?

4) resolution - typically anything from 640x480 but up to 2592x1944 - I'm guessing lots of pixels only useful if they're small, but is having too many potentially counterproductive?

5) frame rate - is a fast rate necessary

Then there's the trade off between them because they're all going to inter-relate....

At the moment I've borrowed a Phillips SPC900 and done my first pictures - stills and video - and put the video through Registax (default settings - no idea how to tweek them yet!) but far from impressed with my Saturn images - I mean it's clearly Saturn but little definition or colour. But then the seeing is rarely great here, atmospherics probably poor in the summer, and the street light directly below the planet probably didn't help!

On my possibles list is the NexImage 5, SkyRis 132 or 618, Opticstar PX-75C and Atik GP. But could quite easiuly opt for something completely different. 

But first I just want to understand the parameters, so any guidance much appreciated! Thanks!

Interesting set of questions, don't know anything specific but may as well give an opinion:

1) CCD seems to be better for long exposures and CMOS for the video side, however it may be that CMOS cost less to produce and for video CMOS may have no real advantage over CCD. So you just see more CMOS for the reason of cost alone. But if no advantage then get a CMOS and save the money if it is video only.