SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Astrophotography of Saturn and Jupiter - Help Needed

Hi everybody

I am an amateur astrophotographer from Denmark, and  I want to photograph Jupiter and Saturn

I am good at visual observation and I have recently pictured the moon which was succesful (see image)

However, when I tried photographing Saturn, I had great trouble focusing the picture as well as right exposure time, ISO etc.

Picutre of the Moon that I have taken (all rights belong to me)

uQGlPnf.jpg

This is a list of my hardware:

HEQ5 SynTrek mount (equatorial mount)

Skywatcher Explorer 200PDS

Cannon EOS 5D

Skywatcher Coma Corrector 0,9x

2x Deluxe Barlow

Various adaptors for photography

I use my barlow together with the Coma Corrector when photographing

As I stated earlier, I want to photograph Saturn and Jupiter

My quesitons are:

1) What should the camera settings be? (Exposure, ISO etc.)

2) Techniques for focusing correctly

3) Techniques to edit photograhs in Photoshop

I am looking forward to your answers!

Clear skies,

Mikael

Nice crisp Moon image.

For planetary the key is to take a very large number of frames and stack them, to compensate for the distortion caused by atmospheric turbulence. If you have a laptop the best way to go is to plug your camera into it via USB and use either APT or Backyard EOS to control it. Both are quite cheap, especially APT.  Using planetary mode and zoom allows shooting at a far higher frame rate than the camera can manage. They also have focussing aids although I haven't used them myself.

Exposure wise, planets are bright being directly lit by the Sun so you want a fairly low ISO to reduce noise and a short exposure so that the swirling atmosphere doesn't smear each frame. Think daylight settings but allow for the f-number, your scope is effectively f10 with the 2x barlow fitted.