SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Really need a complex mirror support?

azzythehillbilly

I am in the final stages of completing my DIY 10" GSO mirror based Newt. After starting to build a 9 point whiffle tree and all the problems attendant, I was wondering if the mirror ( 10", F5. BK4, 35mm thick) could be laid over a flat 1" thick fiber plate with three bumps where the 3 point supports should  be.

Is it really necessary to have a 9/12 point whiffle support?  Am I just gilding the lily?

I want to use my T'scope for visual and occasional photography with a P & S.

My own calculations, with a bunch of simplifying assumptions, using my (rather  rusty, I graduated from engineering college in 1970 )  education of ages past, seems to indicate that the max deflection at the edge with a single support in the center is less than .15 wave length at middle of the visible spectrum. But might be wrong.

I just want to get this finished so ready to drop some niceties for the sake of progress.

Earlier I had to go through tortuous affair of selecting one of the two diagonals I have. (50mm vs 73mm).  Some empirical testing indicatioed no visible difference.

Perhaps the same with the mirror support.

I do thankfully look forward to some candid advice from those who know better than I do. This my first project ever so I am a bit naive.

Azzythehillbilly