SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Disapearing Galilean moons

This is probably going to seem odd BUT… As a science teacher I am trying to follow through classic experiments – one I remember from my youth was that it should be possible to plot the positions of the Galilean moons of Jupiter nightly and thus deduce their orbital periods and approximate orbital radius by plotting on graph paper.  The last bit is fine, I can handle circular/simple harmonic motion and graph in a spread sheet but I have hit two problems…

A Estimating distance – I have been trying to use planetary diameters as this is a constant that is independent of magnification.  This is fine as long as the distance is quite small but I find at about 4/5 I start to struggle are there any tips out there?

B I think I am losing the moons more than I should be. I started looking on 13th May and up to the 15th saw all four easily at low magnification on the 16th things were a bit hazy, I think I have 4 but 17th  definitely only 3. On 18th all 4 clearly visible, ditto 20th, but 23rd only 2 and 25th only 2. Last night 30th in a gap just before the clouds formed a grey dome above us I again saw all 4 quite easily.  Now there are two obvious explanations, not mutually exclusive but of course I will not see them in transit or if they get too far away – According to my Norton’s Star Atlas Callisto averages about 26 planetary radii (13 diameters away) but I should be able to see that easily as the plane of the orbits is quite close to being in line with the visible banding. The other moons are all much closer.  I can’t believe they are hiding behind the planet quite so much or am I missing something obvious here?

Ian

The moons either transit or are occulted by Jupiter once each orbit so it is quite common for less than 4 moons to be visible.