Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

need help with new telescope

Hi I am new to astronomy got my new scope a few weeks ago.(skywatcher explorer 200p eq5) the thing is I cant seem to get anything in focus iv tried the wide angle eye peace with Saturn I should be able to see something but its only a large light with spider and 2nd mirror in the centre of the large light  pls help thanks.

post-37412-0-94133000-1401548727.jpg

One of these: http://starlightinstruments.com/store/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=146

You attach this to the scope first and then pop your eyepiece in the top, meaning that the eyepiece is further from the secondary than it was, and may now be within reach of focus.

I'm sure someone else can explain this far better than me!

Hello and welcome to SGL. The SW200P is supplied with two eyepiece extension tubes, one for 2" eyepieces and the other for 1.25" eyepieces. Not being able to focus is usually down to attaching both, moving the eyepiece too far away from the secondary mirror to reach focus.

If your 200P came with the 2" adapter & you have it fitted to the scope then you might need to remove it & just use the 1.25" adapter for the Skywatcher eyepieces.

The 200P can take a 2" eyepiece and a 1.25" eyepiece.

There is one common problem, people leave the 2" adaptor in place.

Yes it looks like it should be there but it shouldn't.

This ALWAYS means that they cannot get the scope to focus.

Hate to say it, I suspect you are the latest person to fall foul of this "feature".

Amazed at you patience however, I would have reduced it to landfill.

thank u for all the help I have been trying to get it in focus for 2 days I have now took off the 2" extension and now I can focus it on a church when I couldn't before will try it on saturn first clear night.

Glad you are sorted, if you have not already downloaded a planetarium program try Stellarium. Its great and free and can be found here :-- http://www.stellarium.org/ .