Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

What is the best filter for observing DSO's?

I recently bought a Skywatcher Explorer 200p and live in London, so light pollution is a big problem, and have began looking into filters and am finding everything rather confusing as I am new to this. I have had my eyes on a Baader OIII filter, as it looks quite suitable and cheap (money is an issue, and I don't really want to be spending more than £75), but I am thinking that further down the line I would like to begin with imaging. Narrowband filters also caught my eye, but all of the different symbols and stuff confused me, and they are ALOT more expensive, so I guess the two questions I am asking are: 

Is the filter I have suggested good enough?

and

Should I invest in a narrowband filter, as they look better for imaging (although like I said before, price is a major factor in all of this, so nothing too expensive)

Thanks, and this is my first post, so I am sorry if I am repeating what others have said in separate discussions.

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

LOL. I have been debating this with myself for the last day or so and have just placed an order with FLO for the above mentioned 1.25" OIII filter for visual use, literally in the last half hour.

Hello Lewis welcome to SGL.

You may find this article useful - http://www.prairieastronomyclub.org/resources/by-dave-knisely/filter-performance-comparisons-for-some-common-nebulae/

The topic of filters often comes up on SGL and the debate whether to buy a UHC or OIII filter. Although I have both types plus a H-Beta filter I would recommend a UHC filter to start with.

Neodymium filter is the best filter for use in light polluted skies - I have a relatively darkish garden and always leave mine in, makes a big difference to me.  Then my OIII and UHC filters are great for use in dark sites - but don't help too much with any LP in my experience

First off welcome to the stargazers lounge.