Narrowband

Zig-Zag noise pattern on CCD image

KevinReid

I had a try with a QSI683 at -20C on Panstarrs last night (yep amazingly, it was clear for a while around 10pm to midnight). The attached 60s luminance filter shot has a regular zig-zag pattern that I got consistently - unfortunately I can't upload the FITS file as I am limited to 1Mb so I have attached screen shot that shows the kind of thing I am talking about. I am using a good quality 3m USB lead and wonder if anyone has seen this kind of thing before? If it were an artefact of the setup I would have expected to get the same pattern on my darks but they just show a randon noise pattern. Any help greatly appreciated. Thanks!

This might sound daft, but could light cloud cause this kind of effect as it moves across the sky during the image? I just can't explain the regular nature of the pattern. I can't upload the FITS file which is 4Mb - perhaps because I am new to SGL I am limited to 1Mb uploads?post-17373-0-68698400-1400954958.gif

Hi Kevin,

No problem.  

Is if the first time you have used the Camera? Have you tired it again since last night, It could be there was some electrical interference near the camera. Try as the link suggest and take a bias frame. I do get a little sometimes in my Bias frames and put that down to the cooler, so try the bias with the cooler on and also off see if there is a difference.

Let me know the results.

Regards

Steve

I definitely would look at checking the power supply and also interference from a data cable near to the power perhaps. Your retailer will probably like to know that you have tried to eliminate certain things. Take a bias too and see how that fares.