Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Eyepiece advice

hi everyone

I am new to astronomy and I've been given a skywatcher skyliner 200p scope.

The lenses that came with the scope are a 10mm (x120 mag) and 25mm wide angle long eye relief (x48 mag)

My problem is that I don't seem to be able to see as much as this forum and other places on the net suggests I should, e.g. Jupiter - I can see a small ball of light and 4 pin pricks of light for its moons

I was expecting to be able to see a larger image of Jupiter and pick out more of the planet's detail.

Can anyone suggest what other lenses that I should purchase? Or any other ideas as to how I can improve the imagery?

Any advice is greatly appreciated,

Thanks in advance!

Mairead

hi there

are you leaving the scope to cool down outside for maybe an hour before viewing at high power (100x or more)?

if not then this will improve the images.

you can look at lower powers more quickly.

this makes  big difference to what you see. if you received a moon or light pollution filter this will help to reduce glae a little.

http://www.12dstring.me.uk/fov.htm

Hi Ya Madgexox and a very warm welcome to the SGL, if you use this link to a site that gives you a simulation of what you can see through any given Eyepiece in any given telescope, I've just put an 8mm focal length Eyepiece in your scope and you can just make out the two main cloud bands on Jupiter - this may help you a little as to what you can expect to see - a lot of people use it on here as a guide to what telescope and Eyepiece combination is given on the different objects wether its Solar System (mainly the planets) or the Messier Catalogue for the brighter Deep Sky Objects which are star clusters, globular clusters, Supernovae remnants and the brighter Galaxies - remember though, these objects are Millions of Miles away.

Regards.  Paul.

Hello and welcome to the forum  :smiley: