SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hello from Portsmouth, UK, Europe, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way, Local Group, Virgo Supercluster, Observable Universe...

Jonk

...sorry, a little fun with my location.

Howdy, I'm Jon and thought it was time I signed up.

I'm fairly new to astronomy and an particularly interested in astrophotography of DSOs and maybe planets.

I started only a few months ago and bought a SW 150 DOB and SW114 eq, followed by a SW130 eq...and this week bought a used astrophotography setup consisting of the following:

SW150P, HEQ5 synscan, ST80 Guider, few webcams, laptop with guiding and imaging software etc etc.

This hobby has already cost me over £3000 in around 3-4 months if you include the new DSLR / lenses / tripod etc.....!!

Anyway, I've been reading the forums for a few months now and really want the winter to arrive so it's dark by 5pm!

I need to learn the best ways to do things with guiding and long exposure imaging so if there any 1 line tips that are a must to do, please let me know.

I look forwards to posting nebula photos, galaxies etc. as these are my targets.

There's a good opportunity to get some decent milky way shots in June, so that's the first real test of what I can learn at home.

Wish me luck!

Jon

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi John and welcome to the forum. One thing I would recommend for anyone starting out in astrophotography ("dark art" :grin:) is to get hold of a copy of Steve Richards' "Making Every Photon Count" which provides a very comprehensive guide to kit and techniques that will help you generate good consistent images.

Clear skies and hope you enjoy your stay here.

James

Edit: Ha Ha Lee just beat me to it recommending the book!

Thanks chaps and chapesses.

I've used stellarium for a couple of months and also the WWT.

Stellarium will be really useful with EQMOD and the HEQ5 out in the garden if I want to stay indoors!