Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Can't see anything!

Hi. Not sure if this is the right post. I am very new to astronomy. I have bought a Celestron Omni T150 telescope, and a Omegon Redline SW 5mm Okular 2" as extra. Last night we tried it for the first time, and couldn't see anything! Black sky, no stars (and the sky was cloudless)

I'm clearly doing something wrong, but have no idea what. Anyone got any suggestions?

Pete

That's a good scope you have there and I imagine the problem is one of focus. 

Unless you left the cap over the lens I think that you are not in focus. Best target to try to get focus on is Jupiter (high in the West at the moment) as it's a big target relatively. You could also try focusing on a far away object during the day and putting a bit of tape over the focuser to lock it, then try it at night as the focus should be about right. Try to find a daytime target at least half a mile away but don't go anywhere near the Sun if it's out - keep to targets on the horizon.

See if that helps.

Peter

Hi Pete,

Sounds as though you possibly either still had the cap on your scope or perhaps you were way out of focus. I'd imagine it was probably the latter. I believe your scope has a focal length of 750mm, so your 5mm eyepiece yields 150x magnification. If you were pointed at a star and close to focus, you definitely should have been able to see at least some form of star image.